The UBC Respiratory Division is primarily located at the major teaching hospitals affiliated with the UBC Faculty of Medicine. The major activities are focused at Vancouver General Hospital, St. Paul’s Hospital and UBC Hospital. In addition, reflecting the distributed medical school there are a significant number of community respirologists affiliated formally as either full or associate members of the Division.


Division Head – UBC Division

Dr. Chris Carlsten
Tel: 604-875-4729
Fax: 604-875-4695
Email: carlsten@mail.ubc.ca

Division Head – VGH Division

Dr. James Johnston
Tel: 604-707-5662
Fax: 604-875-4695
Email: James.Johnston@bccdc.ca

Division Head – SPH Division

Dr. Chris Ryerson
Tel: 604-806-8665
Fax: 604-806-8704
Email: chris.ryerson@hli.ubc.ca

Postgraduate Program Director

Dr. Victoria J. Cook
Fax: 604-707-2690


The Lung Centre (VGH)
7th floor, 2775 Laurel Street
Diamond Health Care Centre
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9
Tel: 604-875-4122 | Fax: 604-875-4695

Pacific Lung Health Centre (SPH)
8B Providence Wing, St. Paul’s Hospital (PHC)
1081 Burrard Street, Vancouver, V6Z 1Y6
Tel: 604-806-8818 | Fax: 604-806-8839
Email: info@pacificlung.com

Sleep Disorders Program (UBC)
UBC Acute Care Unit
2211 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 2B5
Tel: 604-822-7645

Specialty Clinical Programs

Medical directors and associated physicians are listed below:

  • Asthma – Drs. Mark FitzGerald (VGH) and Del Dorscheid (SPH)
  • Chronic Home Ventilation Program – Medical Director Dr. Jeremy Road (VGH)
  • COPD – Drs. Jeremy Road (VGH), Paul Man, and Stephan van Eeden (SPH)
  • Cystic Fibrosis – Medical Director Dr. Pearce Wilcox; Dr. Brad Quon (SPH)
  • Interstitial Lung Disease – Drs. Nasreen Khalil (VGH), Pearce Wilcox, and Chris Ryerson (SPH)
  • Lung Cancer – Drs. Stephen Lam and Tawimas Shaipanich (BCCA)
  • Lung Transplant – Medical Director Dr. Bob Levy; Drs. John Swiston, and Roland Nador (VGH)
  • Occupational Lung Disease – Medical Director Dr. Chris Carlsten (VGH)
  • Pleural Disease – Dr. Frank Ryan (VGH)
  • Pulmonary complications of HIVBC Centre for Excellence in HIV. Dr. Paul Man
  • Pulmonary Hypertension – Medical Director Dr. John Swiston; Drs. Bob Levy, David Ostrow, Roland Nador (VGH)
  • Sleep disordered breathingSleep Disorders Program. Medical Director Dr. John Fleetham; Drs. Najib Ayas and Frank Ryan (UBC)
  • Tuberculosis Ward based at VGH – Medical Director Dr. Mark FitzGerald; Drs. John Fleetham, Juan Ronco, Victoria Cook, John Swiston, Jay Johnston

Community Respirologists

  • Abbotsford – Dr. Mehdi Keshmiri
  • Burnaby – Dr. Susan Kwan
  • Chilliwack – Dr. Jennifer Wilson
  • Kelowna – Drs. J. Douglass Rolf, Graeme McCauley, Jay Sarbit
  • Maple Ridge – Dr. Frank Ervin
  • New Westminster – Drs. Sheila Webster, Samir Malhotra, Randy Chung
  • Penticton – Dr. Shannon Walker
  • Prince George – Dr. Sharla-Rae Olsen
  • Richmond – Dr. Iqbal Ahmed
  • Surrey – Drs. Anne McNamara, Ted Lawson, Surinder Janda
  • Victoria – Dr. Bruce Sanders


This site is not intended to provide medical advice and information, nor is it designed or intended for any clinical care questions or scheduling of patient appointments. Any and all questions related to clinical care and/or appointments/scheduling of patient care should be directed to the respirology offices via phone numbers listed above. In the case of a medical emergency, call 911.